"Verum est, certum et verissimum, quod est, superius naturam habet inferioram et ascendens naturam descendentis."

                         thelemagick banner



Astrum Argenteum
Do What Do Will


Do what thou wilt shall be the whole of the Law.

unicursal hexagram


The Ipsissimus Grade



The Initiatory Structure of the A∴A∴

The Order consists of eleven degrees or levels, organized into three groups, the Orders of the SS, the RC and the GD respectively set forth in One Star in Sight sub figurâ CDLXXXIX. In the A∴A∴, blind is not blind guide and progress is measured by this series of degrees. The Order of A∴A∴ adheres more or less strictly to the guidelines set forth in Liber Collegii Sancti sub figura CLXXXV by Aleister Crowley.

[Read more about the initiations in the A∴A∴ Initiation section.]


The Order of the G. D.

(Dominus Liminis — the link)

4. Philosophus 4° = 7□
3. Practicus 3° = 8□
2. Zelator 2° = 9□
1. Neophyte 1° = 10□
0. Probationer 0° = 0□

The Order of the R. C.

(Babe of the Abyss — the link)

7. Adeptus Exemptus 7° = 4□
6. Adeptus Major 6° = 5□
5. Adeptus Minor 5° = 6□

The Order of the S. S.


10. Ipsissimus 10° = 1□
9. Magus 9° = 2□
8. Magister Templi 8° = 3□

unicursal hexagram

10° = 1□

Ipsissimus. — Is beyond all this and beyond all comprehension of those of lower degrees.

  • The Grade of Ipsissimus is not to be described fully; but its opening is indicated in Liber I vel Magi.
  • There is also an account in a certain secret document to be published when propriety permits. Here it is only said this: The Ipsissimus is wholly free from all limitations soever, existing in the nature of all things without discriminations of quantity or quality between them. He has identified Being and not-Being and Becoming, action and non-action and tendency to action, with all other such triplicities, not distinguishing between them in respect of any conditions, or between any one thing and any other thing as to whether it is with or without conditions.
  • He is sworn to accept this Grade in the presence of a witness, and to express its nature in word and deed, but to withdraw Himself at once within the veils of his natural manifestation as a man, and to keep silence during his human life as to the fact of his attainment, even to the other members of the Order.
  • The Ipsissimus is pre-eminently the Master of all modes of existence; that is, his being is entirely free from internal or external necessity. His work is to destroy all tendencies to construct or to cancel such necessities. He is the Master of the Law of Unsubstantiality (Anatta).
  • The Ipsissimus has no relation as such with any Being: He has no will in any direction, and no Consciousness of any kind involving duality, for in Him all is accomplished; as it is written "beyond the Word and the Fool, yea, beyond the Word and the Fool".
  • [One Star in Sight sub figurâ CDLXXXIX]

unicursal hexagram

"Ipsissimus" Summary

(10°=1□): Beyond the comprehension of the lower degrees. An Ipsissimus is free from limitations and necessity and lives in perfect balance with the manifest universe. Essentially, the highest mode of attainment. This grade corresponds to Kether on the Tree of Life. Ipsissimus is quite hard to translate directly from Latin to English, but it is essentially the superlative of "self", translating rather approximately to "His most Selfness," or "self-est." (c.f. generalissimus for the same superlative form in use for a grade from same Latin root.)

Crowley named as a condition of this grade the trance Nirodha-samapatti, which reduces heartbeat and other life functions to the bare minimum. Theravada Buddhist monks traditionally attain nirodha-samapatti by producing the aforementioned Formless States one after the other, and perceiving in each what they call the Three Characteristics of all existence: sorrow or tendency towards sorrow, change or unreliability, and insubstantiality or lack of self. Crowley and the A∴A∴ however seek to replace this threefold view with the quest for balance as both a motive for discipline and the means of achieving their end goal. In Liber B vel Magi they urge the Magus seeking further progress to identify the Buddhist Three Characteristics with the opposite states. "Wherein Sorrow is Joy, and Change is Stability, and Selflessness is Self." Crowley's version of nirodha includes "seeing first the truth and then the falsity of the Three Characteristics" according to his published theory.

The Ipsissimus should keep the achievement of this final grade secret, even from the rest of the Order, and continue with the work of the Magus while expressing the nature of an Ipsissimus in word and deed.

[« back to top]


Read more:

Thelema Sigil


Proof read and edited by Frater D.M.T. © Thelemagick.


Love is the Law

Love is the law, love under will.




thelemagick banner                         


Web Matrix


anthropology | buddhism | hinduism | taoism | hermetics | thelemagick | philosophy | religion | spiritualism | poetry | parapsychology | medicine | transhumanism | ufology


Last updated: 30-05-2020